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TAX SALE INSTRUCTIONS TO BIDDERS 

 

This is a judicial proceeding. By biding in this judicial proceeding, you are submitting to the 

jurisdiction of this court, even if you are not a Tennessee resident. Turn off cell phones and 

pagers and beepers. If your cell phone beeps, buzzes, rings or chimes, shut it off DO NOT 

ANSWER IT or you may be found in contempt of court and subjected to a possible $50 fine.  

If you are going to bid, you should have your bid number.  If you don’t have your bid number 

and plan to bid, you must fill out the APPLICATION TO BID and get a bid number. 

By signing the APPLICATION TO BID you are certifying that the information is current, is 

not false or misleading, and is provided in good faith to allow you to bid in this Land Sale. You 

are also certifying that you are aware that when you make a bid, or make a bid for another, or 

allow another to make a bid using your Bid number, that you are legally committing yourself to 

purchase the property at that bid price and that your failure to close the sale may cause you to 

forfeit the bid amount if paid, or if not paid, that the Court can find you in contempt or require 

you to pay. The minimum bid increase:  under $5,000 – $50 over $5,000 – $100. 

I will announce the opening bid on behalf of the city or county, I will not announce the cents.  

If there are cents, I will round up to the nearest dollar.  If the minimum bid is the winning bid, 

the bid will be entered for the exact amount of the minimum opening bid. For example, if the 

minimum opening bid must be $347.39, I will announce “opening bid is 348 dollars”.  If that 

bid wins, it will be accepted for $347.39 and that is the price to be paid. You save 61¢; I save 

my voice. 

Call out your bids LOUDLY AND CLEARLY.  I will then repeat your bid. If I don’t repeat 

your bid, I didn’t hear it OR I have already taken a higher bid. 

I will call out the Item Number at least twice.  At any time while the biding is open, you may 

ask for the Item Number to be repeated. When it appears the bidding has either slowed or 

stopped, I will mark the last highest bid two times and then announce “SOLD” which will close 

the bidding on that item.  A bid can be made at any time before I announce “SOLD”.  The 

bidding is closed when I announce “SOLD”. The bidding is over regardless if you didn’t hear or 

know the item number being bid on. 
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When I have announced “SOLD”, both the winning bidder and the next highest bidder must 

both hold up their bid numbers. We will record both the highest and the next highest bid. Why 

are we going to start doing this? If the highest bidder does not pay today, then he is in 

DEFAULT. The attorneys for the city or county will then have the option of offering the 

property to the next highest bidder at their last bid amount.  If the next highest bidder accepts, 

they may pay for the property tomorrow. If the city or county does not exercise this option, or if 

the next highest bidder no longer wants the property for his bid amount, then a Show Cause 

Order will be issued to the defaulting bidder. I suggest the defaulting bidder bring his 

toothbrush to the hearing.  

Winning bidders must obtain a card to take to 625 Georgia Avenue, Room 300 to pay for 

their purchase.  Each card will contain the Item Number, the Map Parcel Number, the property 

address, the opening bid amount, the winning bid amount, and the next highest bid amount. 

This year we will try something new for the benefit of those of you who may purchase only 

one or two items early in the bidding.  If you are through bidding, stand ---, and when the line 

warrants a short break, we will get you ready to go to 625 Georgia Avenue, Room 300.  This 

way, some of you will get out quicker, our staff at 625 Georgia Avenue may not have to stay so 

late, plus, I get to rest my voice. 

You can pay by cash, cashier’s check, certified check, money order, or credit card (which 

requires an additional 3.2% court cost).   If you do not pay today by 4:00 PM (Eastern time), 

you will be in DEFAULT. Having not seen the property before you purchased it, thinking there 

was a house on the property when there wasn’t, finding out there is a toxic waste dump on the 

property, or that you spent more than you intended to: THESE ARE NOT ADEQUATE 

EXCUSES. Again, I suggest that the defaulting bidder bring his toothbrush to the hearing. 

This Court DOES NOT and CANNOT make any warranties, covenants or representations as 

to the status or quality of these properties or their titles. 

 

 


