District 1 Commissioner: Randy Fairbanks


Contact Me

County Commission (Hours: 8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.
Except for these holidays)

Address: 401 Courthouse, 625 Georgia Avenue, Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402.
Phone Number: 423-209-7200 and FAX Number: 423-209-7201

Committees the Commissioner serves on:

The Building and Economic Development Committee

This committee deals with new construction and major renovation of county buildings, contracts and new industries. This committee also serves as the liaison between the County Commission and existing businesses to assist them with any problems they may have. By working with economic development, the County Mayor and other organizations they hope to promote recruitment of new businesses and industries.

The Finance and Insurance Committee

This committee is responsible for county spending, discretionary funds, and all insurance matters. They work with the Finance Department and County Auditor throughout the year in all matters concerning county finances and coordinate budget preparation with the County Mayor, the Finance Department and all Commissioners.

The Security and Corrections Committee

This committee oversees the security of Hamilton County buildings and property. They also coordinate with the Corrections Advisory Board to assist in areas concerning prison population and the development of a vocational educational program for inmates.

The Delinquent Tax Property Special Committee

This committee oversees and approves of the sale of delinquent tax property as presented by the Real Property Office. Read more about Delinquent Tax Property Sales.

Legislative Staff

Patricia Mitchell, Legislative Administrator

Responsible for County Commissioners' scheduling appointments, conference calls, and meetings. Follows up on complaints and concerns from constituents for Commissioners and manages the Commission Office (which includes staff, budget, payroll, and purchasing)

Melinda Volker, Legislative Assistant

Responsible for front desk and incoming phone calls for Commission Office as well as correspondence, creative writing, and agenda items for Commissioners. The legislative assistant also provides support to the administrator.

Districts' Information

District Area Geographically

The following is meant to give a general sense of district boundaries. For exact districts browse the GIS map system.

District 1 contains the Soddy-Daisy area. District 2 contains the Signal Mountain area. District 3 contains some of Red Bank. District 4 contains the downtown area. District 5 contains the Tyner area. District 6 contains Lookout Mountain and Tiftonia area. District 7 contains the East Brainerd and Apison area. District 8 contains the East Ridge area. District 9 contains the Snow Hill and Harrison area.

Click the map to enlarge it

District Map

Note: The following links will open to another government website or government-affiliated page in a new tab.