District 11 Commissioner: Joe Graham

District 11 Commissioner

Contact Me

County Commission (Hours: 8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.
Except for these holidays)

Address: 401 Courthouse, 625 Georgia Avenue, Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402.
Phone Number: 423-209-7200 and FAX Number: 423-209-7201

Committees the Commissioner serves on:

Legal, Legislative, Administrative, and Personnel Committee


Responsible for reviewing legal matters involving county government; oversees the rules and regulations of the Commission as well as the County’s compliance with all governing rules and regulations; fosters the relationships between the Mayoral and Legislative branches; the State Legislature and related matters, and other elected officials. Works with County Attorney and other appropriate persons or agencies.

Responsible for oversight of all personnel matters, including relations, benefits, grievances, and handbooks. Works with Human Resources to see that all employees understand personnel policies and benefits to which they are entitled, etc.

Responsible for legal matters involving tax delinquent properties acquired by and/or sold to County government.

Arts, Education, and Recreation Committee

Monitors the Hamilton County School system, consults with the Superintendent and board members to assess needs, make suggestions and support actions to develop and maintain high quality educational programs for all children in Hamilton County’s public education system.

Responsible for overseeing recreational facilities, reviewing and making recommendations on county recreation projects. Coordinates county government involvement with the art’s agencies within the community to assist in improving the quality of life in this area.

Roads, Waste, Energy, Transportation and Zoning Committee


Area of concern includes county roads, sewers, solid waste, and infrastructure. Responsible for the utilization of all rolling stock, garages, and parking lots. To be involved in future planning in these areas to try to anticipate and avoid problems. Seeks ways of funding future plans; is concerned with conservation of energy and development and energy problems; and coordinates County recycling efforts. Works with members of the Regional Planning Commission and the Water-Wastewater Treatment Authority staff throughout the year in all matters concerning zoning and countywide development. Surveys, studies of existing conditions and probable future developments are also subject to review by this committee.

Legislative Staff

Patricia Mitchell, Legislative Administrator

Responsible for County Commissioners' scheduling appointments, conference calls, and meetings. Follows up on complaints and concerns from constituents for Commissioners and manages the Commission Office (which includes staff, budget, payroll, and purchasing)

Melinda Volker, Legislative Assistant

Responsible for correspondence, creative writing, and agenda items for Commissioners. The legislative assistant also provides support to the administrator.

Bridget Chatman, Administrative Assistant

Responsible for front desk incoming calls, schedules meeting, maintain database and online calendar, provides project support, handles mailings, files as needed and makes appointments. Assists Legislative Administrator and Legislative Assistant as requested and performs other duties as assigned.

Districts' Information

District Area Geographically

The following is meant to give a general sense of district boundaries. For exact districts browse the GIS map system.

District 1 contains the Soddy-Daisy area.
District 2 contains the Signal Mountain area.
District 3 contains the Hixson and Lakesite areas.
District 4 contains the downtown area.
District 5 contains the Brainerd and Tyner areas.
District 6 contains Lookout Red Bank and North Chattanooga areas.
District 7 contains the East Brainerd and Apison areas.
District 8 contains the East Ridge area.
District 9 contains the Harrison and Birchwood areas.
District 10 contains the Collegedale area.
District 11 contains the Tiftonia, Lookout Mountain, and Missionary Ridge areas.

Click the map to enlarge it

District Map

Note: The following links will open to another government website or government-affiliated page in a new tab.